Member News

Kathy Foulk

President's Message


Women are going to continue to play tournament tennis but our numbers are dropping. Women juggle work and family and sometimes sports take a back seat. Or they are playing short-commitment leagues. For some, it’s the money: the equipment, court time and travel can add up to several hundred dollars every week you travel to a tournament.


Click here for the entire message

USTA Announcement

The USTA, in collaboration with the International Tennis Federation (ITF), is excited to announce that, starting in 2019, American players will have access to considerably more ITF World Ranking points when competing in men’s and women’s 35s-85s events in the United States. In the past, the majority of ITF World Ranking points have been available exclusively in Europe. This change will also provide players the opportunity to climb the world rankings without the need for international travel. Read more

2018 Friendship Cup Team

The United States Team is represented by (left to right): Jane Pang, Ann Hunt, Charleen Hillebrand, Teri Eggers, Helga Lukacsy, Jacquie van Haelst, Sheila Weinstock, Bonnie Champion, Robbie Dimond, Dorcas Miller, Judy Levering, and Kathie Metering.


Nadine Netter-Levy was inducted into the Eastern Tennis Hall of Fame on April 28. Nadine grew up in New York City and Scarsdale, New York, was the #2 college player in the country in the mid-1960s, played at Wimbledon and faced Billy Jean King in an US Open Seniors event. She has been a fixture in the tennis scene in the New York City and Florida area for decades. The Hall of Fame induction is also a benefit that raises money for the Junior Tennis Foundation, helping underprivileged kids attend tennis camps and events.

Rita Price and Betty Cookson

Rita and Betty should have won a Gold Slam in doubles (maybe USTA will say they did) as they won three of the four surfaces this year, but had to play ‘down’ in the Clay Courts due to no competitors. Rita, who is newly aging up to the 90s, earned a Gold Slam in singles.


A Message from Betty Cookson

"Thank you to the NSWTA for putting in a good word for Rita Price and me to receive a Gold Slam in the 90 Doubles for 2017. This is my last year competing and it feels good to “go out a winner.” But to me what is important even more than this award are the many friends I have met through playing tennis and competing at the sectional, national and even international levels. It is the friends I will always remember….not the scores of the matches." And I have not retired my racquet. I am still playing twice a week with my Northern California tennis friends and when I can’t get a foursome together I take a lesson from Weston Reese, a pro at the San Francisco Tennis Club. No, I am not ready to give up tennis nor do I plan to!  – Betty Cookson

Judy Dixon

Judy won her ‘First Ball as a youngster’ in the National 11 and under doubles with Peaches Bartkowicz and in 1967 won her ‘First Ball as a junior’ in the National Indoor singles and doubles (with Vicky Rogers McEvoy). Then she went pro and then she became a coach. Well, she finally retired from coaching at UMass and at the Houston Clay Court Championships, she won her First Ball as a ‘grownup,’ playing the 65 doubles again with Vicky. Is she excited, or what? Guess she has not looked at the size of the check yet.

Kappie Boles will be inducted into Tennessee's Lookout Mountain Hall of Fame on May 6th. Kappie’s other awards include Chattanooga Sports Hall of Fame, GPS (Girls Preparatory School) Athletic Hall of Fame and the Tennessee Tennis Hall of Fame.

Fran Chandler

Fran was selected by her peers as the recipient of the Betty Gray Washington Sportsmanship Award at the National Senior Women’s Clay Court Championships in Houston. Fran is from Jackson, Tennessee.

Louise Russ

Louise received the Lamita Jabbour Sportswoman Award at the Ft. Lauderdale Grande Dames Tully Cup Tournament.

Cartoon was created by NSWTA member Lois Harris and friend Kathy Wicks.


2018 ITF World Championships

Read Brenda Carter's account of her experience at the ITF Championships held in Umag, Croatia. Click here


2020 Friendship Cup

The Ralph and Mary Wilson Friendship Cup Application for the summer of 2020 is available now. Click here


Her Key to Better Tennis at 75: Kickboxing

By Jen Murphy, Wall Street Journal

An athletic retiree finds the combat sport builds upper-body strength and balance while helping her think about how to win one-on-one battles. When Vera Konig asked a tennis pro how to improve her game, he told her to swap her racket for boxing gloves. Read more


Thank you to our Sponsors!

A big shout out to the sponsors of the NSWTA Championships on April 25-29 in Charleston, South Carolina. Thank you to all of our sponsors!

Men's Senior Tennis Website

Stay in touch with the National Senior Men's Tennis Association (NSMTA) at


Must Watch Tennis Videos

90-yr-olds in Tennis Tournament

The Joy of Senior Women's Tennis




Amazon Shopping

  • Amazon donates 0.5% of the price of your eligible AmazonSmile purchases to the NSWTF.
  • AmazonSmile is the same Amazon you know. Same products, same prices, same service.
  • Support the NSWTF by starting your shopping at


     Enter "National Senior Womens Tennis

     Foundation" in the Search field.

Looking For Tennis

Gift Ideas? provides tennis gifts and accessories, and now NSWTA Logo apparel and merchandise in the Tennis League Wear section. Enter promo code “NSWTA” and receive free shipping on your entire order of $25 or more! Start your shopping now by clicking here